FEELING GREAT AND ACHIEVING RESULTS

It’s been awhile since I’ve written, but I am happy to report that I am back in my full workout mode after I sustained a mid-summer rotator cuff injury.  I am working out whenever possible during the week and alternating between running/walking on a treadmill or lifting weights.

I am pleased to report that since I announced the creation of the MSNJ “Fit Doc” Challenge I have lost seven pounds.  And, while I still have a long way to go in accomplishing my goal of reducing my body mass index (BMI) from 28% to 23%, I have seen real results in my weight loss and can feel the difference as I go about my daily routine.

So now that the summer is over and kids are back in school and our hectic routines start again for the Fall, it is important to remember to exercise regularly.  Make it a part of your daily routine.

I encourage all of you to get involved and get moving.  I am proud to highlight some of the accomplishments of our member-physicians.

  • Dr. Mary Campagnolo, MSNJ’s President-elect, will be participating in the Bike MS: City to Shore Ride 2011, a bicycle ride from Cherry Hill to Ocean City, NJ in support of finding a cure for Multiple Sclerosis.  This is her eighth year participating in the event.
  • Dr. John Poole, MSNJ Treasurer, is preparing for the Walt Disney World Marathon in January 2012 and is running up to 20 miles as part of his training
  • The MSNJ staff is also staying fit.  Accounting Clerk, Nagy Srinivasulu is preparing for the Richmond (VA) Marathon scheduled for October 1; and
  • A team from MSNJ will be participating in the 18th Annual Susan G. Komen Central & South Jersey Race for the Cure on Sunday, October 2 at Six Flags Great Adventure in Jackson.

Let us know what you’re doing to lead and healthy and active lifestyle.  Leave a message right here on my blog.

Get fit, stay fit,

Bonki

About MSNJ

Founded in 1766, the Medical Society of New Jersey is the oldest professional society in the United States. The organization and its dues-paying members are dedicated to a healthy New Jersey, working to ensure the sanctity of the physician–patient relationship. In representing all medical disciplines, MSNJ advocates for the rights of patients and physicians alike, for the delivery of the highest quality medical care. This allows response to the patients’ individual, varied needs, in an ethical and compassionate environment, in order to create a healthy Garden State and healthy citizens.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment